Museums and collections
Starting from July 1, 2018, visitors are welcome to the historical exhibition of costumes on the side of Brunava, in a renovated building on the Lithuanian border, which is named "Mazā muiža". The exposition will contain copies of historical costumes created in a time period of 10 years. The authors are enthusiasts of history, united in the "Studio of historical reconstructions "Rococo ".
Rundale Palace ensemble – the most outstanding monument of Baroque and Rococo architecture and art in Latvia.
The oldest part of Bauska Castle – the impressive 15th century Fortress of the Livonian Order on the peninsula between the junction of the Musa and Memele Rivers which once was a safe guard of the order's border.The Newest part of Bauska Castle – residence for the Dukes of Courland was built at the end of the 16th century. Visitors can see the ruins of the Livonian Order Castle, observe the exposition on the history of the castle and other thematic exhibitions.
Bauska Motor Museum
After the reconstruction Riga Motor Museum branch establishment opened in Bauska in July, 2011. When visiting the southern region of Latvia, pay a visit to the Motor Museum in Bauska. We offer new and well-organized premises with more than 60 old-timers, including agricultural and special military vehicles.
In one of the exhibition halls you can glance at motorcars used in the 30ies and postwar years by bourgeois when going for a ride to the countryside. The second exhibition hall offers a chance to feel the atmosphere of Latvian countryside of the 20ies and 30ies.
Bauska Town Hall
The only restored 17th century Town Hall in Latvia. It was built up with private funds of the burgomaster and mayor's council and at that times was the largest and most grand City Hall in the entire Duchy of Courland and Zemgale.
Museum offers an exhibition called "Collection of dolls and toys" by Tamara Cudnovska, as well as an exposition on the 20th century's history of Bauska.
The open-air museum has a Latvian farmstead with a collection of ancient tools.
On the restaurated watermill`s first floor there is a banquet hall.
For relaxation Ausekļu Watermill offers countryside sauna and accommodation spaces.
The Museum of the poet Vilis Plūdonis (1874-1940) lies on a picturesque bank of River Mēmele. In the dwelling house an exhibition is being displayed which is devoted to the poets life and literary heritage. It is noteworthy to look into a little bathouse which is called by one of the poems of V. Plūdonis ''Rabits bath", household buliding and collections of ethnographic articles and carts.
The recreation spot "Mikelis" is located in Gailisi parish, on the bank of the Musa River, only 12 km from Bauska. In this picturesque area of Zemgale it is possible to enjoy natural peace and well-being, explore the history by observing of Peasant Farm and the Retro Car Museum. Enjoy the fine dining at the resort's restaurant and a stayover in it's new and modern hotel in this beautiful place.
Skaistkalne Parish Museum “Novadnieki” was established to honour the memory of the local history researcher Peteris Lukasevics. It exhibits the artefacts and documents on the history of Skaistkalne district gathered by him.
Museum of history and sport of Iecava „Arhīvs”. The exhibition seen in Iecavas outstanding athlete awards, equipment and forms of written and visual evidence of their achievements.
Amtmani Brothers Museum
Amtmani Brothers Museum – the house of actors and theatre producers brothers Alfreds Amtmanis-Brieditis and Teodors Amtmanis with an exposition on the contribution of the Amtmani family to the history of Latvian theatre and the local cultural traditions. Museum organizes meetings with Latvian actors and other cultural events.
Farm "Mačēni" offers to become acquainted with pen, old tools, householdthings collection "Sendienas", organic farm.